Skip to content
Stockton-on-Tees Counts — Stockton-on-Tees, in numbers.Local help →

Stockton-on-Tees, in numbers

People and living standards

Stockton-on-Tees council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Stockton-on-Tees council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 175,154 in 1991 to 207,158 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Stockton-on-Tees council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 177,714 people in 1996; 207,158 people in 2025. 16.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Stockton-on-Tees council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991175,154
1992176,149
1993177,180
1994177,263
1995176,993
1996177,714
1997178,019
1998179,350
1999180,844
2000182,517
2001183,795
2002184,940
2003185,699
2004185,687
2005186,350
2006187,270
2007187,937
2008189,039
2009189,978
2010190,902
2011191,824
2012192,837
2013193,923
2014195,113
2015195,790
2016196,412
2017197,046
2018197,509
2019196,860
2020196,388
2021197,032
2022200,573
2023203,361
2024206,018
2025207,158
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Stockton-on-Tees council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 40,226 people in 1996; 39,073 people in 2025. 2.9% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Stockton-on-Tees council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199140,029
199240,401
199340,778
199440,968
199540,505
199640,226
199739,909
199839,709
199939,943
200039,802
200139,411
200238,979
200338,631
200438,086
200537,711
200637,575
200737,298
200837,117
200937,036
201036,941
201137,148
201237,353
201337,664
201437,932
201538,214
201638,327
201738,618
201838,917
201938,961
202038,784
202138,500
202239,001
202339,186
202439,407
202539,073
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Stockton-on-Tees council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 112,718 people in 1996; 126,531 people in 2025. 12.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Stockton-on-Tees council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991112,239
1992112,558
1993112,932
1994112,569
1995112,298
1996112,718
1997113,002
1998114,230
1999115,186
2000116,642
2001117,806
2002118,989
2003119,781
2004119,928
2005120,795
2006121,713
2007122,386
2008123,281
2009123,879
2010124,363
2011124,474
2012124,101
2013123,971
2014124,068
2015123,856
2016123,755
2017123,505
2018123,026
2019121,604
2020120,808
2021121,014
2022123,057
2023124,750
2024126,167
2025126,531
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Stockton-on-Tees council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 24,770 people in 1996; 41,554 people in 2025. 67.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Stockton-on-Tees council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199122,886
199223,190
199323,470
199423,726
199524,190
199624,770
199725,108
199825,411
199925,715
200026,073
200126,578
200226,972
200327,287
200427,673
200527,844
200627,982
200728,253
200828,641
200929,063
201029,598
201130,202
201231,383
201332,288
201433,113
201533,720
201634,330
201734,923
201835,566
201936,295
202036,796
202137,518
202238,515
202339,425
202440,444
202541,554
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 196,593 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stockton-on-Tees · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh9,0524.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,2031.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,7371.4%
White180,93792%
Other ethnic group1,6640.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 191,610 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stockton-on-Tees · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White181,29994.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,9971%
Asian/Asian British6,6323.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,1330.6%
Other ethnic group5490.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 178,408 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stockton-on-Tees · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White173,48497.2%
Mixed9980.6%
Asian/Asian British3,0931.7%
Black/Black British2550.1%
Chinese/Other5780.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 20.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Stockton-on-Tees council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,474 per person in 1997; £20,623 per person in 2024. 117.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Stockton-on-Tees council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,474
19989,358
19999,805
200010,201
200110,676
200210,975
200311,240
200411,880
200512,369
200612,746
200713,041
200813,360
200913,826
201013,925
201114,274
201214,635
201314,794
201415,229
201515,571
201615,768
201716,070
201816,244
201917,174
202017,457
202117,896
202218,477
202319,581
202420,623
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Stockton-on-Tees council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -10.7% in 1997; -20.6% in 2024. 9.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Stockton-on-Tees council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-10.7
1998-13.6
1999-13.3
2000-14.3
2001-13.7
2002-13.3
2003-13.8
2004-12.5
2005-12
2006-13
2007-15
2008-15.2
2009-13.7
2010-13.8
2011-12.4
2012-13.4
2013-15.5
2014-15.8
2015-18.2
2016-18.1
2017-18.4
2018-20.4
2019-18.5
2020-16.8
2021-18.1
2022-19.5
2023-19.9
2024-20.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54.7%

21 March 2021 · Stockton-on-Tees council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.2%

21 March 2021 · Stockton-on-Tees council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.6%

21 March 2021 · Stockton-on-Tees council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.3%

21 March 2021 · Stockton-on-Tees council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£170,000

July 2026 · Stockton-on-Tees council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£735

August 2026 · Stockton-on-Tees council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.